Time is ticking … but does it have to?

Do any of the following phrases sound familiar to you? I have wasted my time. Where has the time gone? That time could have been spent doing something more productive. Hurry up; we are losing time. I know I have used a few of these once before … okay maybe twice. My point is that so often we talk about time as something that is tangible.

Time is something that is up for grabs and ready to be filled at any moment. And when we fail to fill our time, we often automatically count this as a loss. What if we stopped counting it as a loss? What if instead time became something that we treasure, value, and appreciate rather than something that we seek to occupy, spend, and ultimately throw away?

It is so easy to get swept up in the pressure from society that says that we cannot waste our time. For elementary and middle school children, society says that they should spend time playing, exercising, and doing homework. Are they allowed to breathe?

According to society, high school students should devote their time to take hard classes, build their college resumes, and prepare themselves for college or the work force. Is there even time for them to “just be a high school student?”

The pattern continues. College students should use their time to study, make friends, and build a resume esteemed enough to land them a career. Working adults should designate time to strive for a promotion, have babies, and ultimately, train their kids up in the same mentality. Even retired individuals need to dedicate their time to traveling and staying busy. Heaven forbid that anyone would ever just want to sit, rest, and be still.

As my semester at school seems to be well under way, I have often found my thoughts drifting to society’s timeline. I am grateful that my semester thus far has been fairly light. My work load has been easy, and my extracurricular activities have not been overwhelming. Yet, I often think to myself, I must be doing something wrong. Why do I have all of this time on my hands? What could I be doing instead?

The reality is, I am exactly where I need to be. In my previous post, I talked about “seasons.” For me, it seems that I am currently in a bit of a slower season. Rather than deeming this time as boring, I am day- by- day trying to see it as an opportunity to rest.

I encourage each of you to begin retraining your thought process regarding your very valuable and precious time. Cherish it as just that- precious- something that you should not try to just “kill.”

Indulge yourself by watching an episode of a crappy reality show. Treat your nails to a mani/pedi. Guys, this goes for you too! Enjoy a nice dinner. Or even just sit. Sit on your front or back porch, in your bed, on your couch, and begin to learn to be okay with just being still.

We only have so much time, and it is definitely worth cherishing. I am not insinuating that you drop out of school, quit your job, and cancel all of your commitments just to become a couch potato. I am simply inspiring you to consider your time more seriously. Are the things that you are involved in adding to your life or draining your energy? Get honest with yourself, and be a little selfish.

At the end of the day, what do you have to lose? Just more time?

Xoxo, Marlee

Time is Ticking Blog Post

One thought on “Time is ticking … but does it have to?

Leave a Reply

