Seasons

Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter. Which one is your favorite? Do you like the summer because you can work on that much needed tan to help bring your skin out of its vampire state? Or do you prefer the winter, a time where you can cozy up by the fire and enjoy a nice cup of hot cocoa overflowing with marshmallows. What about the spring? Do the blooms energize you or make you sneeze almost as if you had been nominated for a sneezing competition? Let’s not forget about the fall. Does anyone agree that this season is their favorite because it is time to cheer on the Dawgs or the Jackets if you must?

Whether we take the time to acknowledge it or not, these seasons control much of our life. They dictate what we wear, what vacation we take, or even what food we cook. They come, and they go, and with them, the timeline of our life moves forward on its inevitable continuum.

At their core, these four seasons can truly be described as fascinating, and I believe that beyond the practical ways in which they manage aspects of our life, they also possess very valuable lessons. They teach us patience and how to anticipate the future without wishing away the present. They also remind us that periods of time do not last forever. Appreciate the current state whether good or bad because once it is gone, you cannot get it back.

The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines a season as “a time characterized by a particular circumstance or feature.” It is this definition that refocuses our mind on the power of a season as not just a period of the year but truly a significant time in one’s life. So, may I pose a new question: what season of life are you currently in? Of course, we are all anxiously awaiting the Georgia heat to dissipate signaling the end of summer and the beginning of fall, but more importantly, what is characterizing this time in your life- this season?

For me, it is a new beginning. I am just two weeks into my junior year at the University of Georgia, and if I could mark this season of life with a word, it would be joy. I am overjoyed at the new opportunities that await me as the school year is just underway. What will I learn? How will I grow? Where will I volunteer my time, and how will those experiences shape me now and in the future? It is an exhilarating season for me.

I share this with y’all because it is truly what is behind my heart for this blog. I have stepped out in faith to start something new this year, and my hope is that you will take just a few minutes to check out my blogs and read something that you find motivating.

I urge you now to take just a moment to be still. Rest in this season. Simply because you are in it means that you will learn something from it. Try not to take this lightly. If you are experiencing a great season, rejoice and be glad in it. And if you would characterize this as a hard season, find rest in the words of Anne Bradstreet. “If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant: if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.”

Xoxo, MarleeIMG_9451

6 thoughts on “Seasons

  1. I don’t know which is my favorite season. I have never really thought about it. I’ll have to get back to you on that. But I will say that it made me think about the ever changing seasons of life and it has defintely made me take a different look at life in general. Well written. Thank Marlee, Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

